What’s your coffee consumption like?

DSC_0270

Large latte from Epicenter Cafe.

Another day, another cup (or three) of coffee, and another scare-mongering article telling me I’m going to die if I keep drinking as much coffee as I am. Just a normal day. Meanwhile, I’ll just enjoy three to four cups of coffee on an average school day.

So, if coffee is so bad for you (and I think that’s just the health nuts talking, but that’s just like my opinion, man), why is it so popular? Especially in a city that’s all about organic, fair-trade, and shoving healthy food down your throat, all while being sustainable. Sure, there’s a tea culture that’s nearly as thriving as the coffee culture, and if you look hard enough, you can find your caffeine fix elsewhere, but…the question is: why coffee?

Well, why not? Chowhound has a fairly interesting discussion on coffee going on concerning coffee in San Francisco, which is a good read if you’ve wondered why coffee is so popular (and about the chain shops on every corner). In addition to reading the Chowhound discussion, my fellow coffee aficionados should check out the Caffeination in San Francisco post and accompanying video.

That being said, let me return to the original point, addressing the “Is coffee bad for you?” discussion, I’m  personally of the opinion that no, it’s not bad for you, but that exercising moderation is a great idea. For me, coffee isn’t even about waking me up anymore, but instead it’s more of a routine than anything. Wake up, have a cup of coffee, go to class, have a cup of coffee, go home, have a cup of coffee in the evening. Maybe I’m just a little addicted, ok. But there’s a lot to be said about having something warm to get you going in the morning, and the extra sugar in the drinks I tend to get doesn’t hurt.

So, dear readers–what’s your opinion? Is there such a thing as too much coffee? Are we all turning into caffeine-dependent zombies?

Leave a comment